Sleep, Performance and Cognition

sleep

Sleep, Performance and Cognition

This cluster focuses on the neural and behavioral processes that regulate sleep, cognitive performance, and the effects of sleep loss on these processes, using both human and non-human animal models. The goal is to understand how sleep, or lack of sleep, can affect broad aspects of health and performance.

Recent research in this area

  • Davis, C. J., & Vanderheyden, W.M. (2020) Optogenetic sleep enhancement improves fear-associated memory processing following trauma exposure in rats. Scientific Reports In Press
  • Bushana, P., Koberstein, J. N., Nguyen, T., Harvey, D. O., & Davis, C. J. (2020) Performance on the Mouse Vibration Actuating Search Task (VAST) is compromised by Sleep Deprivation. Journal of Neurophysiology 123, 600-608 PMID: 31891527 PMCID: PMC7052632
  • Davis, C. J., Zielinski, M. R., Dunbrasky, D., Taishi, P., Dinarello, C. A., & Krueger, J. M. (2017) Interleukin 37 expression in mice alters sleep responses to inflammatory agents and influenza virus infection.  Neurobiology of Sleep and Circadian Rhythms 3, 1-9 PMID: 28070566 PMCID: PMC5218600
  1. The transcriptional repressor Rev-erbα regulates circadian expression of the astrocyte Fabp7 mRNA. Vanderheyden WM, Fang B, Flores CC, Jager J, Gerstner JR. Curr Res Neurobiol. 2021;2:100009. doi: 10.1016/j.crneur.2021.100009. Epub 2021 Mar 23. PMID: 34056625 
  2. Koritala BSC, Porter KI, Arshad OA, Gajula RP, Mitchell HD, Arman T, Manjanatha MG, Teeguarden J, Van Dongen HPA, McDermott JE, Gaddameedhi S. Night shift schedule causes circadian dysregulation of DNA repair genes and elevated DNA damage in humans. Journal of Pineal Research, 2021; 70: e12726.
  3. Kurinec CA, Whitney P, Hinson JM, Hansen DA, Van Dongen HPA. Sleep deprivation impairs binding of information with its context. Sleep, 2021; 44: zsab113.
  4. Skeiky L, Brager AJ, Satterfield BC, Petrovick M, Balkin TJ, Capaldi VF, Ratcliffe RH, Van Dongen HPA, Hansen DA. TNF? G308A genotype, resilience to sleep deprivation, and the effect of caffeine on psychomotor vigilance performance in a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, crossover study. Chronobiology International, 2020; 37: 1461-1464.
  5. Satterfield BC, Savenkova MI, Karatsoreos IN, Melinda L, Belenky G, Dongen HPA Van, Satterfield BC, Savenkova MI, Karatsoreos IN, Melinda L, Jackson ML, Belenky G. Interleukin-6 (IL-6) response to a simulated night- shift schedule is modulated by brain-derived neurotrophic factor (BDNF) genotype. Chronobiology International, 2020; 37:1452–1456. doi:10.1080/07420528.2020.1803901. 

Faculty working in this area

Image Not Found

Greg Belenky

belenky@wsu.edu

Research Professor, Sleep and Performance Research Center, WSU Spokane

Christopher J. Davis

Christopher J. Davis

cjdavis@wsu.edu

Clinical Associate Professor, Biomedical Sciences, WSU Spokane

Image Not Found

Marcos Frank

marcos.frank@wsu.edu

Professor, Neuroscience

Accepting Students

Image Not Found

Jason Gerstner

j.gerstner@wsu.edu

Assistant Professor, WSU Spokane

Accepting Graduate Students

Image Not Found

John Hinson

hinson@wsu.edu

Professor, Department of Psychology

Image Not Found

Kimberly Honn

kimberly.honn@wsu.edu

Assistant Professor

Image Not Found

Levente Kapas

kapas@wsu.edu

Associate Professor, WWAMI WSU Spokane

James M. Krueger

James M. Krueger

j.krueger@wsu.edu

Regents Professor

Not Accepting Students

Matthew Layton

Matthew Layton

layton@wsu.edu

Clinical Associate Professor, College of Medical Sciences

Image Not Found

Brieann Satterfield

satterfield@wsu.edu

Scholarly Assistant Professor, WSU Spokane

Accepting Graduate Students

Eva Szentirmai

Eva Szentirmai

eszentirmai@wsu.edu

Associate Professor, WWAMI, WSU Spokane

Hans Van Dongen

Hans Van Dongen

hvd@wsu.edu

Professor & Director, Sleep and Performance Research Center WSU Spokane

Paul Whitney

Paul Whitney

pwhitney@wsu.edu

Associate Dean & Professor, Psychology

Jonathon Wisor

Jonathon Wisor

j_wisor@wsu.edu

Associate Professor, WWAMI WSU Spokane