Sleep, Performance and Cognition

Sleep, Performance and Cognition

This cluster focuses on the neural and behavioral processes that regulate sleep, cognitive performance, and the effects of sleep loss on these processes, using both human and non-human animal models. The goal is to understand how sleep, or lack of sleep, can affect broad aspects of health and performance.

Recent research in this area

  1. Krueger JM, Roy S (2015). Sleep's Kernel: Surprisingly small sections of brain, and even neuronal and glial networks in a dish, display many electrical indicators of sleep. Scientist. 2016 Mar;30(3). pii: http://www.the-scientist.com/?articles.view/articleNo/45394/title/Sleep-s-Kernel/. Epub 2016 Mar 1. PMID: 27695161
  2. Whitney, P.M., Hinson, J.M., Jackson, M., & Van Dongen, H . Feedback blunting: Total sleep deprivation impairs decision making that requires updating based on feedback. Sleep, 38:5, 745-754. (e-pub ahead of print). PMCID: PMC4402662
  3. Tucker, A. M., Whitney, P., Belenky, G, Hinson, J. M., & Van Dongen, H. P. A., (2010).  Effects of sleep deprivation on dissociated components of executive functioning.  Sleep, 33, 1-11. PMCID PMC2802247
  4. Gronli J, Rempe MJ, Clegern WC, Schmidt M, Wisor JP (2016). Beta EEG reflects sensory processing in active wakefulness and homeostatic sleep drive in quiet wakefulness. J Sleep Res. 2016 Jun;25(3):257-68. doi: 10.1111/jsr.12380. Epub 2016 Jan 30. PMID: 26825702
  5. Oonk M, Krueger JM, Davis CJ (2016). Voluntary Sleep Loss in Rats. Sleep. 39(7):1467-79. doi: 10.5665/sleep.5984. PMCID: PMC4909628 [Available on 2017-01-01]
  6. Phillips DP, Savenkova M, Karatsoreos IN (2015) Environmental disruption of the circadian clock leads to altered sleep and immune responses in mouse. Brain, Behavior, and Immunity. Jul;47:14-23. PMID: 25542734.

Faculty working in this area

Belenky, Greg

Research Professor
belenky@wsu.edu

Davis, Christopher

Research Assistant Professor
cjdavis@vetmed.wsu.edu

Frank, Marcos

Professor, Neuroscience
marcos.frank@wsu.edu

Kapas, Levente

Associate Professor
kapas@wsu.edu

Layton, Matthew

Clinical Associate Professor
layton@wsu.edu

Panksepp, Jaak

Baily Endowed Chair Professor
jpanksepp@vetmed.wsu.edu

Van Dongen, Hans

Research Professor & Director
hvd@wsu.edu

Whitney, Paul

Associate Dean & Professor
paul.whitney@wsu.edu

Wisor, Jonathan

Associate Professor
j_wisor@wsu.edu