Sensory Neuroscience and Pain

zebrafish

Sensory Neuroscience and Pain

The study of the molecular, cellular, and circuit basis of how the nervous system collects and integrates information about the external and internal environments. Particular focus is placed on understanding how these systems can be damaged (e.g., hearing loss and blindness), the neural underpinnings of acute and chronic pain, and the monitoring/control of organ systems (viscerosensation) in health and disease.

Recent research

  1. Dhakal S, Stevens CB, Sebbagh M, Weiss O, Frey RA, Adamson S, Shelden EA, Inbal A, Stenkamp DL (2015). Abnormal retinal development in cloche mutant zebrafish. Developmental Dynamics 244(11):1439-55. PMCID: PMC4619121 [Available on 2016-11-01]
  2. Sherpa T, Lankford T, McGinn T, Hunter SS, Frey RA, Ryan, M, Sun C, Robison BD, Stenkamp DL (2014). Retinal regeneration is facilitated by the presence of surviving neurons. Developmental Neurobiology 74(9):851-876. PMCID: PMC4106997
  3. Matthew Kruger, Robert Boney, Alexander J. Ordoobadi, Thomas F. Sommers, Josef G. Trapani and Allison B. Coffin (2016). Natural Bizbenzoquinoline Derivatives Protect Zebrafish Lateral Line Sensory Hair Cells from Aminoglycoside Toxicity. Front. Cell. Neurosci. http://dx.doi.org/10.3389/fncel.2016.00083 PMCID: PMC4811916
  4. Wakley AA, Wiley JL, Craft RM (2014). Sex differences in antinociceptive tolerance to THC. Drug Alcohol Depend 143:22-28. PMCID: PMC4161674
  5. Joanna F. Mulvaney, Cathrine Thompkins, Teppei Noda, Koji Nishimura, Willy W. Sun, Shuh-Yow Lin, Allison Coffin & Alain Dabdoub (2016). Kremen1 regulates mechanosensory hair cell development in the mammalian cochlea and the zebrafish lateral line. Scientific Reports 6, Article number: 31668 doi:10.1038/srep31668.  PMCID: PMC4994024

Research at Legacy

Legacy Research Institute is the research arm of Legacy Health, a private, non-profit health care provider in the city of Portland. Researchers at Legacy have several focuses including a cluster addressing diseases of the eye. Doctoral students in the Neuroscience Program may also undertake research in these labs.

Recent research at Legacy

  1. Ratcliff R, Van Dongen HP (2011). Diffusion model for one-choice reaction-time tasks and the cognitive effects of sleep deprivation. Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 108(27):11285-90. doi: 10.1073/pnas.1100483108. Epub 2011 Jun 20. PMCID: PMC3131321
  2. Boison D, and Aronica E (2015) Comorbidities in Neurology: Is Adenosine the Common Link? Neuropharmacology 97:18-34. PMCID: PMC4537378

Faculty working in this area

R. Lane Brown

R. Lane Brown

brownla@vetmed.wsu.edu

Associate Professor

Accepting Students for 2018

Allison Coffin

Allison Coffin

allison.coffin@wsu.edu

Assistant Professor (WSU Vancouver)

Rebecca M. Craft

Rebecca M. Craft

craft@wsu.edu

Professor, Psychology

Peter Meighan

Peter Meighan

pcm@vetmed.wsu.edu

Clinical Assistant Professor

Mike Morgan

Mike Morgan

mmmorgan@wsu.edu

Professor, Psychology WSU Vancouver

Raymond M. Quock

Raymond M. Quock

quockr@wsu.edu

Professor, Psychology

Deborah Stenkamp

Deborah Stenkamp

dstenkam@uidaho.edu

Associate Professor, Biological Sciences University of Idaho

Image Not Found

Ashley Wackym

wackym@alumni.vanderbilt.edu

Vice President of Research


 

Faculty at Legacy

Image Not Found

Detlev Boison

dboison@downeurobiology.org

Adjunct Professor, Legacy Research Institute, Portland, OR

Shaban Demirel

Shaban Demirel

sdemirel@deverseye.org

Adjunct Associate Professor

Brad Fortune

Brad Fortune

bfortune@deverseye.org

Adjunct Associate Professor

Image Not Found

Haiying Shen

hshen@downeurobiology.org

Adjunct Assistant Professor, Legacy Research Institute, Portland, OR

Image Not Found

Ashley Wackym

wackym@alumni.vanderbilt.edu

Vice President of Research

Lin Wang

Lin Wang

lwang@deverseye.org

Adjunct Professor, Legacy Research Institute, Portland, OR