Molecular and Cellular Neuroscience

Molecular and Cellular Neuroscience

Molecular and Cellular Neuroscience

The study of molecular and cellular events underlying control of development and plasticity of cells in the nervous system. Research focuses on how disruption of these pathways underlies complex neurological and psychiatric disorders.

Recent research in this area

  1. Phillip M. Uribe, Leen H. Kawas Joseph W. Harding and Allison B. Coffin (2015). Hepatocyte growth factor mimetic protects lateral line hair cells from aminoglycoside exposure. Front. Cell. Neurosci. PMCID: PMC4309183  http://dx.doi.org/10.3389/fncel.2015.00003
  2. Audrey M Wells, Xiaohu Xie, Jessica A Higginbotham, Amy A Arguello, Kati L Healey, Megan Blanton, and Rita A Fuchs (2016). Contribution of an SFK-Mediated Signaling Pathway in the Dorsal Hippocampus to Cocaine-Memory Reconsolidation in Rats. Neuropsychopharmacology, 41, 675–685; doi:10.1038/npp.2015.217; published online 12 August 2015 PMCID: PMC4707834 [Available on 2017-02-01]
  3. Kathryn A. Jewett, Ping Taishi, Parijat Sengupta, Sandip Roy, Christopher J. Davis and James M Krueger (2015). Tumor necrosis factor enhances the sleep-like state and electrical stimulation induces a wake-like state in co-cultures of neurons and glia. European Journal of Neuroscience, pp. 1–13, doi:10.1111/ejn.12968 PMCID: PMC4540611
  4. Zhao H, Simasko SM (2010). Role of transient receptor potential channels in cholecystokinin-induced activation of cultured vagal afferent neurons. Endocrinology. 151(11):5237-46. doi: 10.1210/en.2010-0504. Epub 2010 Sep 29. PMCID: PMC2954709
  5. Smith AW, Nealey KA, Wright JW and Walker BM (2011). Plasticity associated with escalated operant ethanol self-administration during acute withdrawal in ethanol-dependent rats requires intact matrix metalloproteinase systems. Neurobiology of Learning and Memory, 96, 199-206. PMCID: PMC3148339
  6. Grobin AC, Gizerian S, Lieberman JA, Morrow AL (2006). Perinatal allopregnanolone influences prefrontal cortex structure, connectivity and behavior in adult rats. Neuroscience. 138(3):809-19. Epub 2006 Feb 2. PMID: 12629187

Faculty working in this area

Suzanne M. Appleyard

Suzanne M. Appleyard

appleyas@vetmed.wsu.edu

Associate Professor

Accepting Students for 2018

R. Lane Brown

R. Lane Brown

brownla@vetmed.wsu.edu

Associate Professor

Accepting Students for 2018

Allison Coffin

Allison Coffin

allison.coffin@wsu.edu

Assistant Professor (WSU Vancouver)

Image Not Found

Marcos Frank

marcos.frank@wsu.edu

Professor, Neuroscience

Rita Fuchs Lokensgard

Rita Fuchs Lokensgard

ritafuchs@vetmed.wsu.edu

Associate Professor & ADA Director

Accepting Students for 2018

Samantha S. Gizerian

Samantha S. Gizerian

sgizerian@vetmed.wsu.edu

Undergraduate Neuroscience Program Advisor; Assistant Professor

Joe Harding

Joe Harding

hardingj@vetmed.wsu.edu

Professor

Department of Integrative Physiology and Neuroscience

James M. Krueger

James M. Krueger

krueger@vetmed.wsu.edu

Regents Professor

Accepting Students for 2018

Peter Meighan

Peter Meighan

pcm@vetmed.wsu.edu

Clinical Assistant Professor

Lucia Peixoto

Lucia Peixoto

lucia.peixoto@wsu.edu

Assistant Professor, College of Medical Sciences

David Rossi

David Rossi

rossid@vetmed.wsu.edu

Associate Professor

Steve M. Simasko

Steve M. Simasko

simasko@vetmed.wsu.edu

Professor and Chair, Director of Programs in Neuroscience

Leslie K. Sprunger

Leslie K. Sprunger

lsprunger@vetmed.wsu.edu

Associate Chair for Veterinary Medical Education (IPN) Associate Dean, WIMU Regional Program in Veterinary Medicine

Brendan M. Walker

Brendan M. Walker

b_walker@wsu.edu

Associate Professor

Gary Wayman

Gary Wayman

waymang@vetmed.wsu.edu

Associate Professor